The Rain Keeps Falling Down

A Poem

Rhonda Marrone
1 min readSep 2, 2021

The rain keeps falling down, and
I feel every drop
Like a ton of bricks on my brain, and
Every drop is a weight on my shoulders, and
I feel every splash
In my sorrowful soul. For,
Last night I dreamed
Of my mother who is gone, but
In my dream she laughed happily
As she swam in her pool,
Tanned and shining gold in the sun, but
The rain keeps falling down. And
I dreamed of my daughter
Who has moved far away.
She and I made dinner together:
A chicken and fresh vegetables, and
She baked a cake,
Iced it with rainbows.
We laughed and loved, but
I awoke to an empty house, and
The sound of the rain, and
Every drop feels like tears in my eyes, and
Weights on my shoulders, and
The rain keeps falling down.
And falling down.
And falling down.

~~ Rhonda Marrone 9/2021

--

--

Rhonda Marrone

Poetry and Essay Writer. Be Open Editor. Lover of all things nature. You can most likely find me sitting under a tree ,watching birds, writing poems.